Craft & Cork >>

Winemaking
octobre 15, 2015 | By RJS Craft Winemaking

Est-ce acceptable de « pirater » votre trousse à vin?

Je vous entends déjà.  « Pirater une trousse à vin? » De quoi parle-t-il?  Je vous explique.  « Pirater » au sens de la définition moderne, empruntée du monde des TI, qui signifie modifier des caractéristiques d’un système pour le plaisir de la performance ou d.. Lire la suite
Vineyard in Stellenbosch, South Africa
octobre 1, 2015 | By RJS Craft Winemaking

Série Tour du monde : Stellenbosch, Afrique du Sud

Si voyager vous plaît autant que fabriquer du vin, inscrivez vite Stellenbosch sur votre liste de voyages de rêve. Fondée en 1679, cette ville vallonnée d’Afrique du Sud produit du vin depuis des centaines d’années. Elle est considérée comme une destination incontourna.. Lire la suite
septembre 17, 2015 | By RJS Craft Winemaking

Trois ne font qu’un

Les vinificateurs savent qu’un vin presque parfait exige à la fois des compétences et une touche de finesse. Et l’une des compétences particulièrement importantes est l’art de l’assemblage. Dans leurs efforts pour fabriquer la crème de la crème, des vinificateurs de.. Lire la suite
S’il est facile de boire du vin, il est moins facile d’en parler. Trop souvent malheureusement, la culture qui entoure le vin est perçue comme étant un peu l’affaire de snobs, en raison surtout du langage affecté ou recherché qui la caractérise. À preuve, le mot œnop.. Lire la suite
août 20, 2015 | By RJS Craft Winemaking

Du bon temps et du bon vin

Le parcours représente la moitié du plaisir  Il en va de même pour la vinification artisanale. Pour bon nombre des vinophiles qui fabriquent leur vin dans notre magasin, rien, bien sûr, ne se compare à l’anticipation de l’arôme et de la saveur du nouveau vin et de l.. Lire la suite

Craft & Cork >>

Winemaking
October 15, 2015 | By RJS Craft Winemaking

Is it okay to hack your wine kit?

For most people, the word 'hack' either calls up the act of chopping wood, or a terrible golf swing. The modern definition, borrowed from people who like to fiddle about with computers, is the practice of modifying the features of a system, in order to accomplish a goal outside t.. Read More
Vineyard in Stellenbosch, South Africa
October 1, 2015 | By RJS Craft Winemaking

Wine Tour Series: Stellenbosch, South Africa

If you are as passionate about travelling as you are about making wine, Stellenbosch should be on your travel bucket list. This hilly town in South Africa, established in 1679, has been producing wine for hundreds of years, and gained its reputation as a premier wine destination .. Read More
Rachel Kvas at RJS Craft Winemaking HQ
September 17, 2015 | By RJS Craft Winemaking

Single is not for everyone

Winemakers know that crafting a wine destined to achieve a near perfect score requires both skill and a touch of finesse. And one particularly important skill is the art of blending, or as it is called in the world of wine: assemblage. In pursuit of making the best of the best, w.. Read More
Illustration of butler holding corkscrew
September 3, 2015 | By Sean Griffin

What are all these wine words? Do I need to know them?

Drinking wine is easy; talking about wine can be more difficult. Unfortunately, wine culture is often perceived as a bit snobby, due in part to the expansive array of fancy verbose terms and elaborate descriptors that comes with it. Take oenophile for example—which is simply an.. Read More
en primeur winemaking kit
August 20, 2015 | By RJS Craft Winemaking

Good times & good wines

Getting there is half the fun Like so many things we do for ourselves, this holds true for many of the wine lovers that make wine in my store. Obviously the best part of making your own wine is enjoying that first sip of a new vintage, the anticipation of the aroma and the tas.. Read More