craft-and-cork-glass-bottles
avril 28, 2016 | By RJS Craft Winemaking

Une bouteille en verre améliore-t-elle mon vin?

Vous êtes-vous déjà demandé pourquoi le récipient le plus utilisé pour le vin est la bouteille en verre? Aujourd’hui, la bouteille en verre est si omniprésente qu’elle nous semble banale et que l’on peut oublier qu’elle est tout de même assez récente dans la grande histoire du vin. Curieuse, je me suis amusée à faire quelques reche.. Lire la suite
avril 14, 2016 | By RJS Craft Winemaking

Personnalisez votre mariage avec votre vin artisanal

La journée du mariage est une occasion unique dans la vie de deux personnes qui s’apprêtent à unir leur destinée. Vous voudrez en faire un événement mémorable non seulement pour vous-mêmes, mais aussi pour vos parents et amis qui célébreront avec vous. Quand viendra le moment de planifier votre mariage, comme tous les couples, vous vou.. Lire la suite
mars 31, 2016 | By RJS Craft Winemaking

Parfaits accords pour un souper entre amis : 3e partie!

Environ six semaines après avoir amorcé le processus de fabrication artisanale du lot de vin autour duquel nous allons organiser notre souper progressif, j'ai reçu l'appel que nous attendions : notre vin était prêt pour l'embouteillage! J'ai immédiatement pris rendez-vous au magasin de l'Académie RJS Craft Winemaking de notre voisinage pour me.. Lire la suite
mars 17, 2016 | By RJS Craft Winemaking

Parlons des vins aromatisés aux fruits

En matière de vin, nous avons tous nos préférences. Par exemple, j’aime bien savourer un Pinot grigio vif et rafraîchissant avec un repas ou siroter un Merlot velouté pendant une soirée tranquille à la maison. Ma meilleure amie, elle, dit qu’il n’y a rien comme un verre de Shiraz (et un fauteuil confortable) pour se détendre à la fin d.. Lire la suite
Friends making wine together.
mars 3, 2016 | By RJS Craft Winemaking

Parfaits accords pour un souper entre amis – 2ᵉ partie

Depuis maintenant trois ans, nous organisons régulièrement avec nos voisins des soupers progressifs. Tous participent à la préparation des repas, qui sont invariablement délicieux et gastronomiques! Il y a quelques mois, nous avons monté la barre d’un cran en décidant d’accompagner notre prochain repas des vins que nous aurons fabriqués n.. Lire la suite

Menu
Row of carboys
February 17, 2016 | By RJS Craft Winemaking

Winemaker’s tip: avoid volatile acidity

Craft winemakers are all too aware that winemaking can be a fickle art. When everything goes well, the end result is magical: a few simple ingredients are turned into liquid bliss.  But, every once in a while, even the most seasoned winemaker can have a batch that goes, as they say, “sideways”. One of the most common problems occasionally encoun.. Read More
February 4, 2016 | By RJS Craft Winemaking

Perfectly pairing dinner with friends

Over the last fifteen years we've often gotten together with our neighbours for dinner.  In the last three years we've begun regularly entertaining one another in the form of a progressive dinner. These dinner parties eventually morphed into themed progressive dinners; we've had barbeque, beer, Mad Men, Latin American, Greek night, Moroccan and Mard.. Read More
January 21, 2016 | By RJS Craft Winemaking

The inside scoop on grape skins

If you've ever peeled a red grape, you'll have seen something interesting: the flesh is actually pale yellow--not red-- and if you eat it separately from the skin it's sweet, but actually kind of bland. That's because all of the colour and tannin, and most of their flavour and aroma are stored in the skin (and the seeds) of the grape. If you press r.. Read More
Red wine and dessert cupcakes
January 7, 2016 | By RJS Craft Winemaking

Add the perfect wine to your dessert

Some friends came to my house for dinner recently. You know the scene: A few middle-aged girl pals reminiscing over lasagna, and several glasses of Pinot Noir. After polishing off the second bottle of my Pinot, the four of us agreed that as much as we could sip Pinot Noir all night, it was time to sample the flourless chocolate cake my girlfriend pic.. Read More
Traditionally Christmas table with candles and juniper
December 22, 2015 | By RJS Craft Winemaking

‘Tis the season for tradition

Every family has their own traditions at Christmas time.  Some traditions we inherit from our parents, traditions undoubtedly passed down from many generations. Other traditions we create ourselves and incorporate into our holiday festivities year after year.  In my family every Christmas eve we enjoy a glass (or two or three) of mulled wine. I .. Read More